//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

A Tough Year

The last year’s been an eventful one, both good and bad.

It started out very well, after four years of torture, teaching at an Oakland public school, my husband finally decided to send out resumes for local private schools and was quickly scooped up by one in San Francisco. A bit farther for his commute but immensely better compensated. He now teaches history to grades 5, 7 and 8 but still has half as many students as he used to have.

Looking forward to his next school year (and it has turned out as good as he hoped), Patrick surprised me by bringing up a subject that has been taboo ever since our getting together… Children! Wonderful surprise for me, after 5 years of marriage, we both have good stable jobs we enjoy and Patrick agreed it was time. So we started “the process” and by mid-summer, we had a bun in the oven!

Back Garden at the Height of Summer Beauty

Back Garden at the Height of Summer Beauty

Clarkias Blooming in the Summer Garden

Clarkias Blooming in the Summer Garden

Due date was mid-March but it wasn’t to be… At 12 weeks, the risk of miscarriage lessens dramatically so that’s the week every expectant mother looks forward to. But at 14 weeks, I miscarried and not easily. The nurses didn’t see what was happening and after my second emergency appointment at my doctor’s office, I went home to rest and woke up with a 103 degree fever. Patrick took me to the emergency room at seven and I didn’t leave the hospital for 9 days. They confirmed the baby was dead that night but I had contracted a blood infection. They put me on antibiotics to fight it and IVs to keep me hydrated, but my body wasn’t strong enough to deal with the miscarriage on its own so they had to do an emergency D&C. It went well but the infection was bad enough that I developed a pulmonary edema – my lungs started filling with liquid – so they had to intubate me. I was unconscious for two days after that and woke up completely unaware that the time had passed and so weak that I could barely stand. I couldn’t walk more than a few feet for three days. So in the end I was in the ICU for 6 days and 3 more in the regular hospital until they cleared me to be released.

I spent three weeks at home after that, gaining my strength back and coming to terms with what happened. After a week and a half, I had enough energy to work outside in the garden and I found myself getting interested in it again. All summer I was so absorbed in the pregnancy that I neglected the garden, not even realizing how little it was holding my interest. Below is one of the last pictures I took before the miscarriage, as the garden moved quickly into Fall…

Autumn in the Back Garden

Autumn in the Back Garden

 

And I didn’t take another picture until the end of December – a measure perhaps of how long it took to recover.

Mid Winter in the Back Garden

Mid Winter in the Back Garden

Winter Magnolia Blossoms

Winter Magnolia Blossoms

And although it is just a big coincidence that the seasons happened to fall in line with the events of last year, Spring brought us good news of two types. In the traditional manner, spring brought new life and we are pregnant again, as of today, due on October 10th. This morning was our 20 week ultrasound and we found out we’re having a baby girl!

Early Summer Garden of 2014

I don’t have a garden picture that well expresses celebration so… Our Early Summer Garden of 2014

Lastly, I think one more good event is warranted to round out the year’s story. About two months ago marked my year anniversary with my current job, one I’ve enjoyed since the beginning even with the high stress it involved. But at the beginning of April, it became so much better. A good friend of mine in the construction department who I had worked with on a weekly project since early summer, came over and offered me a job in her department. I had liked my position as it was in accounting but the people in my department and I had never bonded so to be able to transfer and to work with my favorite people in the company was a dream come true.

Moving forward… My garden is bursting in full summer bloom and I didn’t feel right to bring up our home renovations – our new kitchen and new windows – in this post so maybe I’ll find the energy to post some more here before the year is out this time. But no promises 😉

Early Summer in the Back Garden 2014

Early Summer in the Back Garden 2014

Salvia blooms in the Morning Light

Salvia blooms in the Morning Light

 

Discussion

One thought on “A Tough Year

  1. Thanks for the post. I really enjoyed reading it and looking at the pictures. The flowers are beautiful. Alice

    Posted by Anonymous | June 2, 2014, 2:27 PM

Leave a Reply

